Web Content Display Web Content Display

Presidents and Board of Trustees

President  Timur Alibaev - director KAIPresident  Timur Alibaev

Acting Rector of KNRTU-KAI

Contacts: Ph. +7 (843) 238-41-10/ Fax +7 (843) 292-21-41


Candidate of Economic Science

Honored Economist of the Republic of Tatarstan (2014). 

Awarded with medals "In Commemoration of the 1000th Anniversary of Kazan", "For Valiant Labor", "For Labor Merits", "300 Years of the Russian Fleet", "200 years of the Ministry of Internal Affairs of Russia”,“For strengthening the military community”,“XXVII World Summer Universiade 2013 in Kazan”, a letter of thanks from the Chairman of the State Council of the Republic of Tatarstan, a letter of gratitude from the Mayor of Kazan, a certificate of honor from the head of the Kazan city administration, a letter of gratitude from the President of the Republic of Tatarstan, a lapel the sign “State Employment Service. 20 Years”, Medal of the Order “For Merit to the Fatherland II. degree" (2021).


Vice-President  GRIAT - Prof. Kai-Uwe Sattler - TU Ilmenau

Vice-President  Prof. Kai-Uwe Sattler

Rector of TU Ilmenau

Contacts: Ph. +49 3677 69-5001/ Fax +49 3677 69-5009




Kai-Uwe Sattler leads the Database and Information Systems group at the Department of Computer Science and Automation of the TU Ilmenau, Germany. He received his Diploma (M.Sc.) in Computer Science from the University of Magdeburg, Germany. In 1998, he received his Ph.D. in Computer Science (magna cum laude) from the same university. From 1998 to September 2003 he was a member of the Database research group (Prof. Gunter Saake) at the University of Magdeburg. From October 2001 until March 2002, he worked as a visiting assistant professor at the UC Davis, USA. During summer term 2002 he held a replacement professorship at the TU Dresden and during winter term 2002/3 at the University of Halle. In June 2003, he received his Habilitation (venia legendi) in Computer Science from the University of Magdeburg. He joined the Faculty of Computer Science and Automation of the TU Ilmenau in October 2003 as Professor. From 2011 to June 2017, Kai-Uwe Sattler served as Dean of the Faculty. 

Jens Strackeljan - Rector Otto-von-Guericke University Magdeburg

Vice-President  Prof. Jens Strackeljan

Rector of Otto-von-Guericke University Magdeburg

Contacts: jens.strackeljan@ovgu.derektor@ovgu.de 

Professor, Chair Technical Dynamics, Otto-von-Guericke University Magdeburg

Winner in German Competition Innovation in Medical System “Controlled Ultrasonic device “

Honorary Doctorate Technical University Kiew


Main Research topics:

  • Linear and non-linear rotor dynamics, internal damping, multi-body systems
  • Fault detection in rotating systems, e.g. roller bearings
  • Vibration and Condition monitoring
  • Design and structure optimisation using soft-computing methods (nature inspired approach)
  • Medical engineering: dental devices, sensor - actuator combination and FEM modelling of piezo ceramics, dental drills


Board of Trustees

  • Dr. Albert Karimov - Board of Trustees chair
  • Dr. Timur Alibaev - Acting Rector of KNRTU-KAI
  • Dr. Alsu Tuktamyshova - GRIAT Russian codirector
  • Mr. Ilshat Fardiev - General Director of JSC
  • Mr. Zagir Vildanov - Director, Ltd
  • Prof. Kai-Uwe Sattler - Rector of Technical University of Ilmenau
  • Stefan Bienefeld - DAAD, Head of TNE Programs
  • Dr. Martin Gitsels - Regional President of Siemens in Russia, Vice-President of Siemens AG Russia


Honorary Board of Trustees members include:

  • Prof. Albert Gilmutdinov - Aide to the President of Republic of Tatarstan in the area of higher education and science, Founding President of GRIAT
  • Prof. Peter Scharff - Professor at Technical University of Ilmenau, Founding Vice-President of GRIAT

The main task of the Board of Trustees is any assistance and welfare of the activities of the institute in its scientific, educational, methodical and educational part.